Thursday, October 25, 2012

Textile Museum of Canada: reDesign 2012

This past August, I was invited by the Textile Museum of Canada to re-imagine and reDesign one of the classic Eames DSW-style chairs in support of Museum's second annual fundraising event reDesign 2012
Over the course of the past week, the Textile Museum has slowly been unveiling each of the 40 chairs in anticipation of the upcoming auction. 
Here is a sneak peek at my contribution to the auction, some of my favorite reDesigns and more information on the event. If you are interested in purchasing a ticket to the event, you can find more information here.

Lace felt chair
Industrial felt pattern, hand-cut & paint.

BMO Financial Group 
reDesign 2012
Presented by the Textile Museum of Canada
Wed. November 7th 2012. 6:30 - 9:30pm
Hazelton Lanes, Oval Square - Lower level
87 Avenue Rd. Toronto 

The Textile Museum of Canada (TMC) will present its signature fundraising event and gala, BMO Financial Group reDesign 2012, on Wednesday November 7th, 2012 in the courtyard of Yorkville’s Hazelton Lanes. Developed by the TMC, the second annual reDesign event supports creativity, ingenuity and re-use to produce stellar art and design objects. Forty leading Canadian artists, designers and architects including Thrush Holmes, Jeremy Laing, David Dixon, Hariri Ponterini Architects, Barr Gilmore, and Comrags have been invited to reimagine and refurbish identical Eames-style chairs, generously provided by MORBA, to be sold at this year’s silent auction. reDesign is a cornerstone of the TMC’s annual fundraising activities. 

“The Textile Museum of Canada has been amazed by the generosity and innovation of all participating,” said Executive Director Shauna McCabe, “There has been no limit to the creative brilliance the artists bring to the task of transforming these iconic designs. The resounding enthusiasm of the city’s creative community and the overwhelming public response to the unique interdisciplinary styles that result have made reDesign one of our most important events.”  

reDesign challenges Toronto’s most celebrated talent to construct inspired, collectible designs. This year’s iconic Eames-style furnishings will be transformed by creators Lizz Aston, Bruno Billio, bookhou, Brothers and Sons, Castor, Joy Charbonneau, Farley Chatto, Johnson Chou, Comrags, Creative Matters Inc., Rob Diemert, David Dixon, Stephanie Fortin, Fugitive Glue, Barr Gilmore, Charlene Gilmour, Grant Gilmour, Hariri Ponterini Architects, Grant Heaps, Adam Herst, Hoax Couture, Thrush Holmes, Jeremy Laing, Levitt Goodman Architects, Dennis Lin, MADE, Graeme Marrs, Amanda McCavour, Derek McLeod, MORBA, Tina Morgan, Camal Pirbhai, Meghan Price, Joel Robson, Patricia Roy & Amy Piccinni, Kathryn Walter, Kevin Weiss, Gareth Wilson, and Pam Woodward.

Johnson Chou

Levitt Goodman with 
Hot Pop

Grant Heaps

Dennis Lin

Joel Robson

No comments:

Post a Comment